Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

The game should be running correctly now, report any problems here.

Moderator: Moderators

Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby candleja » Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:05 pm

I was looking at grand spire of magic n I clicked on Magic the elemental for mefs, n it gave this bug...
User avatar
candleja
High King & International Playboy
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:21 pm

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby Streamline » Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:20 pm

i presume it was age 49, and its fixed, same bug was in age 48 ive just checked and Fast Age, Ive changed them all now:)

Also Ive never seen anyone as good as my at finding bugs
If your reading this, send me a drink
User avatar
Streamline
Master of Chaos
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:47 pm
Location: Rehab

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby Chip » Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:08 pm

thats weird.

do we need to check in a copy of one of those games and in beta mnode to make sure that the bonus granting the unit still works?
Image
User avatar
Chip
King & Data Discombobulator
 
Posts: 1853
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:12 pm

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby kaelari » Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:18 pm

did you set it to allow magic elementals instead of magic? this will cause it to make magic elemental elementals... it's a display issue in the help file that links incorrectly (I believe) need to check that.

should be all correct now.
"The problem with elves is they aint got no meat on their bones. What you need is a good 450 pound dwarven woman. One with a nice thick beard you can really grab onto and swing from."
Image
User avatar
kaelari
Chief executive in charge of fantasy
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:00 pm
Location: TBD

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby Chip » Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:35 pm

nice one K!

i've been on a long hike round an amusement park today.

its coming around to midnight here.

do you mean its all fixed - the display bug and the data base?
Image
User avatar
Chip
King & Data Discombobulator
 
Posts: 1853
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:12 pm

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby kaelari » Tue Apr 14, 2009 12:55 am

I believe so, but not fully tested.
"The problem with elves is they aint got no meat on their bones. What you need is a good 450 pound dwarven woman. One with a nice thick beard you can really grab onto and swing from."
Image
User avatar
kaelari
Chief executive in charge of fantasy
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:00 pm
Location: TBD

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby Streamline » Tue Apr 14, 2009 6:25 am

it was typed in a the databases as eleallow Magic

I changed it to Magic Elemental, and the infomation page came up, which is what the bug was i believe, As the military in the database was set up as Magic Elemental not Magic
If your reading this, send me a drink
User avatar
Streamline
Master of Chaos
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:47 pm
Location: Rehab

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby Chip » Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:20 am

yes.

but it was actually the help file code which was wrong.

the change you have made wuld have meant the first person to build the GSOM would have been granted a unit called "Magic elemental elemental" - as the "elemental part is added in the eleallow code when the building is built.....

so the unit would not have existed which would have caused a further bug later on....

this is a historical issue due to the fact that eleallow was added later on in the game development.
Image
User avatar
Chip
King & Data Discombobulator
 
Posts: 1853
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:12 pm

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby Streamline » Tue Apr 14, 2009 3:59 pm

ahhh ok i get it now, i guess the eleallow, is to stop the unit coming up in the hire list?
If your reading this, send me a drink
User avatar
Streamline
Master of Chaos
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:47 pm
Location: Rehab

Re: Error, unit Magic, not defined. possibly VERY bad bug

Postby Chip » Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:38 pm

yes indeed.

its not classed as a military unit in the same way... and the elementals are stored simply under name in the game code:

magic, sorcery, earth, rage etc.... the data drawn for the lpayers to see adds the "elemental" word on.
Image
User avatar
Chip
King & Data Discombobulator
 
Posts: 1853
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:12 pm


Return to Major Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron